“Carry My Love”: Celebrating and Supporting Military Children

Military Child Bat Buds CollageIn celebration of Military Child Month, we have a guest post from long-time Operation Gratitude supporter and volunteer, Nancy Levy:

I love the simplicity with which inspiration can strike and a new idea is born. My husband Gary and I were driving home from a recording session for my new children’s music CDs when Gary had one such inspiration. He asked, “Wouldn’t it be great to write a song for military children whose parents have deployed?”

As we drove on, my thoughts drifted to my own children, now grown. The mere thought of a long separation from them when they were young made my heart ache. I connected most deeply with the moments we shared laying together quietly reading and cuddling before bedtime each night. As we arrived home, the first lyrics seemed to be writing themselves…

Bedtime Already

“And the time I miss you most is when I lay down in my bed, and I think of all the stories that the two of us have read…” 

I continued to write and “feel” my way through the song while I thought about the responses that Operation Gratitude gets from the troops who receive care packages. The items that seem to mean the most to the troops are the letters from home, and especially the letters from children. I imagined what a letter from my own child would mean to me after a long separation. It would be my lifeline. And so the song continued to unfold with a theme…the letter, that sacred connection to home:

“And I draw wings on the backs of my letters that will carry my love to you.

Once the song was finished we assembled a wonderful team to record the song and Mouse and Choircomplete our project. I know I speak for everyone who so generously donated their time, energy and talent when I say that it is our great pleasure to offer Carry My Love to Operation Gratitude.

Though the minimum donation for the download is .99 cents, please feel free to donate more. One-hundred percent of your donation will go directly to Operation Gratitude.

I have one more goal for Carry My Love: I would like to produce a CD and illustrated book to include in every Operation Gratitude Battalion Buddy care package.

Interested in sponsoring this project? Please email me at: nancy@nancyscircleoffriends.com

Please visit Nancy’s Circle of Friends to download the song. You will find links on both the Home Page and the News Page along with information about my other children’s music projects.

Here is a  YouTube video of Carry My Love that we hope you will enjoy:

Thank you for supporting Operation Gratitude!! 

 Important: For Battalion Buddy Requests — Please have your rear detachment or family readiness coordinator contact us at Info@OperationGratitude.com (or if you are familiar with the family readiness coordinator, please forward them our information) so we can arrange to send Battalion Buddies to all the children of your unit. We wish we had the resources to be able to ship to individuals but it is not within our mandate and we apologize that we cannot fulfill requests on an individual basis.

About Operation Gratitude

Operation Gratitude annually sends 200,000+ care packages to Veterans, First Responders, New Recruits, Wounded Heroes, their Care Givers, and to individually named U.S. service members deployed overseas and their families waiting at home. Each package is filled with food, entertainment, hygiene and hand-made items, as well as personal letters of support. Our mission is to lift the spirits and meet the evolving needs of the Military and First Responder communities, and provide volunteer opportunities for civilians anywhere in America to express their appreciation to all who serve our nation. Each package contains donated product valued between $45 and $100 and costs our organization $15 to assemble and ship. Since its inception in 2003, Operation Gratitude volunteers have shipped more than 1.6 Million Care Packages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Carry My Love”: Celebrating and Supporting Military Children

  1. OH Blog says:

    Nancy Levy has captured the sacrifice of our military kids, living a life they didn’t choose, and the bravery and courage they exhibit so beautifully in this song. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

