A Care Package Saves a Life…Again.

A few days ago we received a heart-wrenching email that we feel is important to share with you:

“I am a soldier who is currently deployed. Recently I have been pretty depressed. I see just about everyone here getting care packages from loved ones.

But I don’t have any loved ones back home.

Well, except my dog…But someone poisoned her on Thanksgiving when I showed up here.

Every day I would go to sleep and wish I didn’t wake up. On my way back to work I would hope to catch a mortar round in my chest. I spoke with the Chaplain about some of these issues but nothing seemed to help. Every day I would go through the same steps: work, lunch, work, bed.  

Same thing, every day. 

Then a soldier came to tell me I had a package to pick up. They told me it had been sitting in the mail office for some time now. For the whole walk over there I wondered, ‘Who could it be from?’ I heard talk about care packages being sent from private organizations back home, but those were from a list you had to put your name on. I never did that because with my job I was always too busy and time was never permitting.

When I saw the box, I saw ‘Operation Gratitude’ on the side. When I opened the package and started looking through the contents a lump grew in my throat, my lip started to quiver and the tears started to flow.

I had an overwhelming feeling that someone really does care.

I am feeling much better about myself now. I don’t know how I can ever thank you for what you have made me feel. Thank you so very much for what you and your team have done!

Sincerely, J.C.”

There is no way to quantify the invaluable morale-boosting impact our care packages have on the men and women who receive them. But letters and emails like this one from J.C. confirm that what we are doing is important. With your help we will continue this work, positively affecting Military letter-writers like J.C. and the tens of thousands more whom he represents.

Every donation of $15 covers the assembly and shipping costs to send another care package.

You can ensure that a care package like the one we sent to J.C. reaches a Service Member every month! A recurring monthly donation of $15 works out to just 50-cents per day.

Your daily pocket-change can mail a priceless care package filled with love and appreciation to an American Hero, proving that someone really does care!

To set up a recurring or one-time donation online, click here: DONATE NOW.

Donations by check are also welcomed, made payable to Operation Gratitude and sent to:

Operation Gratitude
P.O. Box 260257
Encino, CA 91426-0257

Remember, for only 50 cents a day, you can save the lives of our troops.

Your generosity will make a difference. Please, donate today.

Thank you for your generous support!

P.S. This is not the first time we have heard how our care packages have helped a service member going through a difficult time. Read another emotional story with a positive ending: The Power of a Package.

P.P.S. To read more letters and see photos from our package recipients, click here: Mail Call and Photo Gallery.

About Operation Gratitude

Operation Gratitude annually sends 100,000+ care packages filled with snacks, entertainment, hygiene and hand-made items, plus personal letters of appreciation, to Veterans, First Responders, Wounded Warriors, Care Givers and to individually named U.S. Service Members deployed overseas. Our mission is to lift the spirits and meet the evolving needs of our Active Duty and Veteran communities, and provide volunteer opportunities for all Americans to say "Thank You" to members of our Military. Each package contains donated product valued at $75-100 and costs the organization $15 to assemble and ship. Since its inception in 2003, Operation Gratitude volunteers have shipped more than One Million Care Packages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Care Package Saves a Life…Again.

  1. Pingback: Helping Veterans Heal | Operation Gratitude Blog

  2. Pingback: “You have saved my life.” | Operation Gratitude Blog

  3. Pingback: Fall 2012: Scarves for Troops Update | Operation Gratitude Blog

  4. raysrope says:

    ” I am feeling much better about myself now. I don’t know how I can ever thank you for what you have made me feel. Thank you so very much for what you and your team have done!
    Sincerely, J.C.”
    Dear J.C.,As a Vietnam Veteran I can understand completely the feelings you may be going through. But when those feelings attempt to take root. Remember, your very own words, From my family to you-
    “Thank you so very much for what you and your team have done!”
    GOD BLESS YOU and KEEP YOU SAFE!

  5. wdednh says:

    Reblogged this on YOU DECIDE.

  6. wdednh says:

    God bless you.

  7. ssgt leslie says:

    nothing like getting a package from the states to turn your world around. thank goodness for op grat and all their volunteers and supporters. may we hear good news from jc and all military members serving our country near and far.

  8. Reblogged this on nebraskaenergyobserver and commented:
    If you ever wondered about whether showing support for our deployed troops makes a difference. Here’s your answer. Nothing I do, makes me happier than supporting these wonderful people.

  9. Mari says:

    It’s heartbreaking to hear J.C. Has no one back home. My brother and I are lucky to have each other and imagining him not being in my life is tremendous. We’d love to reach out to J.C. and extend our friendship. We are all part of the human family and it helps to be reminded. Pls let us know if this is possible. Thank you.

    • We’re not sure he will have time to reply to everyone who is asking to write to him, but if you’d like to send an email to J.C. in care of our email address — opgrat -at- gmail.com — we will forward it to him. In this way, his privacy is protected and he can decide whether or not he’d like to respond.

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

